Purpose

We work with the Oregon State Bar and other organizations in the furtherance of common projects related to the legal profession, with particular emphasis on construction law. We provide CLE opportunities for local attorneys to further their professional development and provide a vehicle for local construction attorneys and industry professionals to communicate regarding important issues in Oregon construction law.

Upcoming Section Events

Tri-Annual Newsletter

The Construction Section publishes a newsletter in spring, summer, and fall featuring the latest updates on caselaw, legislation, and recommendations of construction law practitioners.

Contribution is not limited to Section members: if you would like to write an article for the newsletter, please contact the Newsletter Editor identified below.

Click here to view the current newsletter and search archives back to March 1986.

Membership

Membership in the Construction Law Section is $20.00 each calendar year and is available through the Click here to join through the Oregon State Bar Add/Review Section portal.

Participation in the Executive Committee is driven by a nomination process. The Nominating Committee appointed by the Executive Committee provides at least one nomination for all Executive Committee positions up for election who are then elected by the Section members. In making determinations nominations the Nominating Committee uses the following criteria in evaluating the nominees:

  1. Nominees reflect the diversity of the Section membership, the Oregon State Bar and community at large;
  2. Participation in meetings (any Section member can attend Executive Committee meetings);
  3. Write one article per year for the Section newsletter;
  4. Assuming responsibility for at least one other task for the section.
  5. In short, the Nominating Committee looks for persons that reflect the diversity of the Oregon State Bar and actively participate in the Section. Or, even briefer… persons that get involved! If you have any questions about the nomination process, please contact the Nominating Committee chair who is the immediate Past Chair (currently Tyler Storti (tstorti@lawssl.com)).

2020 Executive Committee

Officers

Chair: William G. Fig, billf@sussmanshank.com
Chair-Elect: Curtis A. Welch, cwelch@sussmanshank.com
Past Chair: Tyler James Storti, tstorti@lawssl.com
Secretary: Jakob Lutkavage-Dvorscak, jld@davisrothwell.com
Co-Treasurer: Sandra D. Fraser, sandra@fraserlawllc.com
Co-Treasurer: Justin Monahan, justin.monahan@otak.com

Members at Large

James A. Chaney, james.chaney@co.lane.or.us
C. Andrew Gibson, agibson@stoel.com
Stephanie Corey Holmberg
Stacey A. Martinson, stacey.martinson@millernash.com
Emily Sarah Miller, emily@millernies.com
Steve Norman, steve@engravlawoffice.com
Michael W. Peterkin, mwp@peterkinpc.com
Molly A. Washington, molly.washington@portlandoregon.gov
Van M. White III, vmw@samuelslaw.com
Jacob A. Zahniser, jacob.zahniser@jordanramis.com

Advisory Members

Jason W. Alexander, jalexander@sussmanshank.com
Daniel L. Duyck, dduyck@duycklaw.com
D. Gary Christensen, gary.christensen@millernash.com
Doug L. Gallagher, doug@dglawoffice.com
Tara M. Johnson, taraj@seifer-yeats.com
Darien S. Loiselle, dloiselle@schwabe.com
Alexander Max Naito
Thomas A. Ped, tped@williamskastner.com
Charles R. Schrader, chucks@nspor.com
Alix K. Town
Jeremy T. Vermilyea, jvermilyea@schwabe.com
Peter J. Viteznik, pviteznik@kilmerlaw.com

Newsletter Editor

Justin Monahan, justin.monahan@otak.com

BOG Contact

David Wade, jdwadejd@outlook.com

Bar Liaison

Yasha Renner, yrenner@osbar.org