Purpose

We work with the Oregon State Bar and other organizations in the furtherance of common projects related to the legal profession, with particular emphasis on construction law. We provide CLE opportunities for local attorneys to further their professional development and provide a vehicle for local construction attorneys and industry professionals to communicate regarding important issues in Oregon construction law.

Upcoming Section Events

Annual CLE and Section Meeting

October 12, 2018, 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Riverhouse on the Deschutes, Bend
Contemporary Legal Issues from Project Conception to Resolution (Live Event) Live Event at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, Bend 5.5 General CLE credits and 1 Ethics credit (to be applied for) Sponsored by the Construction Law Section. Click here to register now through the Oregon State Bar!

Tri-Annual Newsletter

The Construction Section publishes a newsletter in spring, summer, and fall featuring the latest updates on caselaw, legislation, and recommendations of construction law practitioners.

Contribution is not limited to Section members: if you would like to write an article for the newsletter, please contact the Newsletter Editor identified below.

Click here to view the current newsletter and search archives back to March 1986.

Membership

Membership in the Construction Law Section is $15.00 each calendar year and is available through the Click here to join through the Oregon State Bar Add/Review Section portal.

Participation in the Executive Committee is driven by a nomination process. The Nominating Committee appointed by the Executive Committee provides at least one nomination for all Executive Committee positions up for election who are then elected by the Section members. In making determinations nominations the Nominating Committee uses the following criteria in evaluating the nominees:

  1. Nominees reflect the diversity of the Section membership, the Oregon State Bar and community at large;
  2. Participation in meetings (any Section member can attend Executive Committee meetings);
  3. Write one article per year for the Section newsletter;
  4. Assuming responsibility for at least one other task for the section.
  5. In short, the Nominating Committee looks for persons that reflect the diversity of the Oregon State Bar and actively participate in the Section. Or, even briefer… persons that get involved! If you have any questions about the nomination process, please contact the Nominating Committee chair who is the immediate Past Chair (currently Doug Gallagher (doug@dglawoffice.com)).

2018 Executive Committee

Officers

Dan Duyck, Chair, dduyck@duycklaw.com
Doug Gallagher, Past Co-Chair and Nominating Committee Chair, doug@dglawoffice.com
Tom Ped, Past Co-Chair, tped@williamskastner.com
Tyler Storti, Chair elect, tstorti@lawssl.com
William Fig, Secretary, billf@sussmanshank.com
Curtis Welch, Treasurer, cwelch@sussmanshank.com

Members at Large

Sandra Fraser, sandra@fraserlawllc.com
C. Andrew Gibson, agibson@stoel.com
Ryan Hunt, rhunt@ghrlawyers.com
Tara Johnson, taraj@seifer-yeats.com
Jakob Lutkavage-Dvorscak, jld@davisrothwell.com
Stacey Martinson, stacey.martinson@millernash.com
Justin Monahan, justin.monahan@otak.com
Steven Norman, steve@engravlawoffice.com
Michael Peterkin, mwp@peterkinpc.com
Jeremy Vermilyea, jvermilyea@schwabe.com
Molly Washington, molly.washington@portlandoregon.gov
Van White, vmw@samuelslaw.com
Jacob Zahniser, jacob.zahniser@jordanramis.com

Advisory Members

Jason Alexander, jalexander@sussmanshank.com
D. Gary Christensen, gary.christensen@millernash.com
Katie Jo Johnson, katiejoj@mcewengisvold.com
Darien Loiselle, dloiselle@schwabe.com
Chuck Schrader, chucks@nspor.com
Pete Viteznik, pviteznik@kilmerlaw.com

Newsletter Editor

Justin Monahan, justin.monahan@otak.com

BOG Contact

David Wade, jdwadejd@outlook.com

Bar Liaison

Yasha Renner, yrenner@osbar.org